The Other Realm

Fanfiction from the other side

Snapdragon by PrettyKittyArtist

Leave a comment

Pairing: Edward/Bella

Rating: M

Genre: Angst/Romance

Summary: Once upon a time, a girl fell in love with a boy. He gave her a ring and promised her forever. No one told her there’d be an expiration date on her glass slippers. What’s a girl to do when she stands to lose everything? She fights. Hard.

Teaser from Chapter One: 

The numbers on the clock radio glowed brightly in the shallow light of the room. I groaned when I saw that it was two in the morning. I turned away to block the light and was surprised to find my husband missing. He was supposed to be home way earlier, so I was concerned. I pushed the covers back, threw my legs over the side of the bed, and padded out of the room to look for him.

When I got to the kitchen, I grabbed my cell phone off the counter to see if I’d missed a call from him. I found it odd that I hadn’t. He met his brother at the bar to watch the game, and they were always home early. It wasn’t like him not to call, even if he knew I’d be mad. He always called.

I immediately dialed his number and pushed send. His phone chirped from the other room, so I followed the sound into the den. I sighed, relieved, when I saw him sprawled along the length of our worn sofa. At first I smiled, noticing how adorable he was when he slept. He always slept like a log; so peaceful and carefree. My thoughts soured quickly, however, seeing him on the couch instead of in bed… with me.

My first instinct was to confront him, but after thinking about it for a minute, I reconsidered. I left him to sleep in his ragged jeans and t-shirt and returned to our room.

Comments on this fic: I don’t even remember how I found out about this fic, but it has had me hooked ever since I found it. Half the time I don’t know who to side with. Being a woman, most of the time I lean toward siding with Bella because Edward pulls some dumba** stunts, but there are a few other times where I side with Edward. This one is very different from the norm, and I absolutely love that. If you can’t handle a fic where there is angst and real life issues happening, this probably isn’t the one for you, but if you’re like me and crave angst–with an HEA, of course–this one is perfect. Check it out!

You can find this story on Fanfiction.

Leave a comment